top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturencbminwives

Where do you fit?

Updated: 7 days ago



Do you remember the classic child’s toy, the shape sorter? A container full of block shapes. Stars, cubes, cylinders, and so many more. How often have you watched a toddler slam one shape down onto the wrong slot, frustrated because it just wouldn’t fit? Haven’t we all felt that way before, trying to fit into a shape that doesn’t match?  As a minister’s wife we sometimes find ourselves trying to fit in a nice, tidy box that doesn’t quite fit. From expectations of a perfect home and well behaved children to the list of responsibilities that may be expected of a pastor’s wife. Does your wife play the piano? Will your wife lead our women’s ministry? My husband has always graciously pointed out to any search committee that they would be hiring him, not me. Certainly I serve alongside him in ministry and happily fill multiple roles in our church. That does not mean, however that I fit in a mold made of unrealistic expectations. My house is not spotless, my children are great but not always the best behaved, and while I enjoy singing I never took piano lessons. Thankfully, God tells us in Jeremiah 1:4-5 “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart and appointed you as my prophet to the nations.” How wonderful to know that He set us apart, He loves us, and He made us each in His image. How boring would a shape sorter be if it was a square container filled with square shapes and covered in square shaped holes? God has a unique plan for each of us, within our husband’s ministry, our family’s lives, and this world. Take time today to praise God for making you exactly who you are, who He designed you to be. 



Kelly is the wife of Adam Self, pastor of Atlantic Missionary Baptist Church. They have been married almost 18 years and serving together in ministry for 13 years. She is mom to Jackson (15) and Jordan (11). She loves teaching missions to her church kids, being a marching band mom, and leading her daughter’s Girl Scout troop at their church. In her spare time she loves to read, cross stitch, and nap. 


68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page